Organizational Structure

HOFINET is incorporated as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization in the District of Columbia, United States and received its initial funding from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, The World Bank Group, and FMO of the Netherlands.

Board of Directors: HOFINET is governed by a board drawn from international housing finance experts to oversee the fundraising, development strategy and implementation of the portal. The board will expand to include seven directors. Initial board members for the development phase are:
  1. Drs. Marja Hoek-Smit, Executive Director of HOFINET: Director of the International Housing Finance Program in the Samuel Zell and Robert Lurie Real Estate Center of the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.
  2. Dr. Michael Lea: Director of the Corky McMillan Real Estate Center at San Diego State University and Principle of Cardiff Economic Consulting Services. Previously served as Chief Economist of Freddie Mac and Brookings Institute Economic Fellow at the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development.
  3. Dr. Friedemann Roy: Global Product Lead Housing Finance at the International Finance Corporation, Access to Finance Advisory, The World Bank Group.

Editorial Committee: The Editorial Committee comprises international housing finance professionals from across the continents to ensure broad-based participation by the international community. Initial members are Duncan McLennan, St. Andrews University, United Kingdom; Achim Duebel, Finpolconsult Berlin; David Porteous, Bankable Frontiers, USA; and Bertrand Renaud, Renaud and Associates, USA.

Theme and Country Editors: Each theme or country page has a dedicated editor who updates information on a regular basis and maintains a blog for communication with members. Editors’ names and profiles are displayed on each landing page.